Jpop Video Review: C-ute’s “LALALA Shiawase no Uta”

I’ve been a fan of C-ute for a while now, but I can’t say their latest PV offering much followed along in the same quality as most the others have (except the Masara Blue Jeans video, not a fan). This particular tune was good but the video just never seemed to match up in its excitement.

LALALA Shiawase no Uta

The costume design is lacking, being just a simple dress with two rows of fluff around the bust region. I’m not really sure what the intended effect was supposed to be, but it’s lost on me. Like the Blue Jeans video, the image is rather plain and uninspiring to me.

The tune itself is peppy and has grown on me more as I’ve left it looping in the background.

The main trouble I find with it is the closeups at a particular part of the video — when they are forced to sing loads and loads of LALALAs and they seem to develop either a classic sweatdrop or seem to be thinking by their “ehhhh” expression on their attempts at smiling that, “Ok, this is weird having to say LALALALALALALALA for like 10 minutes.” Although it does give us English-speakers something to chime in with having little to no knowledge of the language per se, this particular repitition is something I dislike about even English songs have have it. I’m anticipating it’s inclusion to be strictly an appeal to the mass audiences of the Hello Project concerts that seem to chime in at predetermined times — making this one of those moments to add a rallying cry.

Naturally, my favorite of the bunch, Saki Nakajima doesn’t get much screen time, but admittedly moreso than some of the other lesser-shown gals. Airi has just been overpromoted IMHO, and although Maimi was a big draw for me in the beginning, my tastes have been a bit refined as they’ve aged a bit in facial dimensions since those earlier days.

That said, I think I’ll just keep it on loop in the background, without watching the video all that much. A fair offering, but by no means a favorite.

2 thoughts on “Jpop Video Review: C-ute’s “LALALA Shiawase no Uta”

  1. I have noticed you don’t monetize your page, don’t waste your
    traffic, you can earn extra bucks every month because you’ve got high quality content.
    If you want to know how to make extra bucks, search for:
    best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.