NYR: Complete/Progress One Art Per Week, 11 12 & 13

For better context of what these NYR posts mean, see this intro post.

I meant to combine weeks 11 & 12 because I was pretty sure I wouldn’t get much done, but not the case. Since it’s so late into Week 13 already, I figured I might as well make an all-inclusive.

On Week 11, I changed the site image banner (to the green forest-scape), having to crop an ideal section out of a dozenish potential images I pilfered, without crediting, from Wallbase.net. It took maybe 2 hours, because I sorted through perhaps 200-300 potential wallpapers to find one that suited my whim =P

On Week 12, I assembled more raw materials for the cardboard Solomon’s Temple, with the intent of creating a 3D diagram for use in teaching kids at my church about what the place looked like, in cut-away.

On Week 13, I extensively photographed and video-recorded a 3rd-annual benefit Pow Wow that my dad and the Native American group he heads up, where proceeds go to ARC. For my non-US readers: “Native Americans” doesn’t refer to people who were born in America, but instead any of many hundreds of indigenous tribes of people that lived on the land prior to the esteemed “discovery” by Europe. A “Pow Wow” is, today, loosely a celebration generally for a specific tribe unless, as in this case, it is intertribal. Native Americans are sometimes called American Indians, due to a legendary mix-up by discoverers thinking the land they’d struck was actually India. There are vendors who sell crafts and works of art based on the Native American culture, cultural food like Indian Tacos, and foremostly, a large central circle with a giant drum made from animal hide in the center, surrounded by inward-facing drummers and singers who all pound on the drum simultaneously in beat and sing, while various activities occur around in the circle behind them. They’re often outside, but it is not uncommon for them to be held indoors, as this one was.

Below is a panorama picture I took of the circle (click on the image to see full-size). On the far right is a head table. You’re generally supposed to only walk in the circle in a clockwise direction. If someone only needed to walk up to the table and they were on the table’s left a quarter of the way around, they’d have to walk 3/4 of the way around instead of straight up to it. However, most tourists who visit Pow Wows are unfamiliar with this practice and regulars glare at them when they do but often don’t mention it. If you do obey the clockwise rule, you’ll get some instant credibility with the regulars for knowing better.

Also for Week 13, I was flipping through a 3-ring binder I’d forgotten about that contained a few art clippings I’d cut from magazines and collated into clear plastic binder sleeves, and got the idea to make another large colorful collection similar to one I’d made therein, to hang on my bedroom wall. Yay! A new project I may never finish =)

Leave a Reply

