NYR: Complete/Progress One Art Per Week #4

For better context of what these NYR posts mean, see this intro post.

I’m not sure why this week zipped along so fast, but it’s already most of the way through Saturday! For week four I came upon the idea of crudely fabricating my own miniature, cardboard version of a Solomon’s-temple (or whatever the portable tent version is called) after seeing a vaguely papercraft version sitting on a gym foyer at church last Sunday. I asked around who made it and to what due end (being pretty much just a plain rectangular border, a tiny square burning altar, and a milk carton draped with burlap. It was made by kids, so it was naturally disturbingly simple, and I felt pressed to bring into being my own three-dimensional model. I’m pretty much just in the process of procuring decent illustrations of such a structure, and accumulating materials — namely wide, thick sheets of brown cardstock that my current employer uses for separating layers of product on pallets — that can be cut and glued/taped together to more closely/accurately resemble it. Sot that’s in the works.

The giant 10-foot-by-4-foot painting backing has been progressed an additional increment. I suspected that the lashed-together cardboard pieces might not hold up as I had expected (as far as not buckling) so I’ve lashed a narrow, 8-foot piece of wood vaguely near the top, to act mostly as a anti-bending measure but also to better attach mounting fixtures for hanging.

I’m still accumulating more and more Kara-related videos (in aid of creating a Kara fansite mostly as a source for ultra-large images, namely shotties from fullscreened, HQ video rips), after stumbling across a considerable number from KenhNgheNhac.net (kinda weird web design, but the links to HQ files is what I’m after and have them, this site does) and ShareTheRhythm2 (a livejournal blogger that you need to friend before you can see her impressively-assembled collection, but well worth the effort) and CashewManiaKPop (a fellow wordpress blogger with another widespread collection).

I’ve also been loosely trying to pick out notes for a brain-stormed YouTube video of me performing (gasp) a self-arranged medley of K- and J-pop melodies to be played on some future mystery instrument that I will later learn. I borrowed a large keyboard from my father and have been idly picking them out as the “ooh! and that one!” whim strikes upon hearing another one to include. Thankfully, however, some others have beat me to it and have arranged their own sheet music of asian pop hits at 1004°.

Doesn’t seem like much this week, but it just seemed to rocket by for me somehow ~_^

Leave a Reply

